What’s Meant To Be Will Always Find A Way.

by Creative Food Therapy

“There is so much about my fate that I cannot control, but other things do fall under the jurisdiction. I can decide how I spend my time, which I interact with, whom I share my body and life and money and energy with. I can select what I can read and eat and study. I can choose how I’m going to regard unfortunate circumstances in my life-whether I will see them as curses or opportunities. I can choose my words and the tone of voice in which I speak to others. And most of all, I can choose my thoughts.”

Elizabeth Gilbert

I chose to open with this quote because we are given free will and we make our own decisions.  Whether we are dependent upon others in making those decisions is still, ultimately our choice.  Yet, at my very core I believe as well that there are many moments and events in our lives that are meant to happen in order to get us to where it is we are meant to be.  Universal principles occur in which the order of things is presumably prearranged, a ruled cause of events through time.

I hadn’t expected to write this past weekend although I knew I would touch upon the topic of fate eventually, events conspired to push me into writing this post.  Friday, I was at my aunt’s house that was holding a get together.  Mary, a life long friend of my mother and aunt was there and we had been catching up because we hadn’t seen each other in quite some time.  She had asked about my schooling and I had informed her how I conveniently had enough Psych and Social Science credits from college to be able to step into grad school with ease.  My major in college had been Animation and so ten years ago I would have never imagined I would be here now.  I went on to express my gratitude in the forces of the universe, acknowledging how my earlier choices in life helped to create my current aspirations and present reality of becoming an Art Therapist.  We got into talking about how our decisions shape our lives even decades later and how there are events that unfold that we could never imagine or explain away.  This is when Mary told me the story that inspired this post.

Mary started off by saying she enjoyed her week because she was able to visit with an old dear friend of hers.  A friend who currently lives in Vermont, but that wasn’t always the case.  Mary’s friend Brenda lived here in NY originally.  When she was younger she was engaged to be married but the engagement was called off.  Mary’s friend remained here in NY and her ex-fiancé Steve relocated to California and eventually married.  Twenty plus years had gone by, when Mary’s friend received a random call on her answering machine.  It was Steve and he explained that he had gotten her number when he was at work.  He had been in the middle of a company meeting regarding new computer software and the computer expert asked each of the workers within the meeting to give him a name and in return he would locate the their contacts and provide addresses and numbers, this was meant as a demonstration of the new software.  Steve gave the computer expert Brenda’s name.  The computer expert was able to locate her and provide a number for Steve.  However, at the time of his call, Brenda was away.  She retuned to find a message from Steve on her answering machine but realized he had forgotten to leave his number.  Brenda was scheduled to leave on business again almost immediately, so, on her machine she created the answering message to say “To the party who called me looking to reconnect, I would love to, however you failed to leave your number.  If you get this, leave your information and I will return your call when I get back into town”.  Upon Brenda’s return the second time she found Steve had left another message, with his number!  They started to become reacquainted and began to learn about one another again.  Brenda learned that Steve and his wife had divorced but that since then his ex wife had passed away from cancer and he was now living in Vermont, in his lake house he had won in the divorce situated on Lake Champlain.  For quite some time the couple would take turns visiting each other between NY and Vermont.  Two years into courting they married.  Today, they are living a wonderful life together, traveling the world and have become very active within their communities especially with regard to environmental issues, creating positive change through the love they have for themselves, for one another and everything around them.

The entire time Mary was telling me this story I had chills and goosebumps running up and down my entire body, all I could say was, WOW!  And Mary agreed!  All of those years later, after so much time apart, so much life experience between the two, the highest highs and lowest lows, only to be reunited at that particular moment in time?  I knew I needed to share this story with you all.  Our discussion closed with a firm agreement, that it couldn’t have happen to a nicer person and that in the end being good at heart and to those around us truly comes back to us, one way or another.  Most importantly we agreed that sometimes, it isn’t a matter of ‘if’, but more so a matter of ‘how’ and ‘when’.  I don’t know everything but what I have found to be true?  It is important to trust in who we are and what we are doing as long as we are true to ourselves, as long as we are the best we can be.  It takes patience, but if we can do that, it seems as though everything else has a way of falling into place 😉

“I thought about one of my favorite Sufi poems, which says that God long ago drew a circle in the sand exactly around the spot where you are standing right now.  I was never not coming here. This was never not going to happen.”

Elizabeth Gilbert

♥ All of my love and light ♥

Namaste

~ Jennifer