Zeus? He’s Got Nothing On My Dad.

by Creative Food Therapy

In fact, Zeus could learn a few things from my dad! My hope is that you all come to know unconditional love. Whether it is from a parent, a grandparent, a child, siblings, friends, a life partner, or most importantly yourself, my wish is for you to know a love that will never, ever fade. Can we all just stop and really think about this for a moment? Think of the power behind a love that will never fade, that will never die. Step away from the screen close your eyes and give yourself a moment before you come back. Imagine a love so grand it literally swallows you whole, reminding you of who you are, that you are precisely where you need to be and that, every atom of your being is perfect 🙂 This kind of love that defies all odds, it saves lives as well as creates new life, this kind of love creates miracles, and I know this because I have witnessed it. Our inward journey towards loving ourselves unconditionally can turn out to be a life’s struggle for many. Unfortunately, I have watched some perish before ever achieving it. Yet, if we are fortunate enough, throughout our toughest life lessons we have that one or more then one person that will always love us unconditionally no matter what. I speak of that love that never judges, leaves or decreases, which never changes and stays the same eternally constant and is forever growing with time. So far in my life’s experience, this is the love of my family and in honor of fathers day yesterday, more specifically, my father.

One of my earliest memories is of when I was around 5 years old. I remember waiting on the steps in the early morning for my father to leave for work. I would wake up and run to the top step where I would sit waiting for him to pass me. Before continuing down the stairs and out the front door, my father would pick me up and place me back into bed tucking me in and giving me a kiss. He was usually out of the house by 6 am, and I was always half asleep but I needed to be there to see him off. I was too young to fully understand that kind of commitment yet somehow I knew then, there wasn’t anything he wouldn’t do for me, for all of us. It is 28 years later and he still wakes up at 6 am every morning for work, both my mother and father still do.

Through life’s up and downs my father has never lost his faith. He has always kept his optimism, has never lost his boyish charm, sense of humor and most importantly he has never lost his laughter. There was and still is a confidence that he keeps, he has never and will never care what anyone else has to say, unless of course it is about his family and in that case, take cover! He is insanely loyal, to the degree of what some might see as a fault. He is as strong as an ox but as gentle as a teddy bear. He has always followed his heart and even though he has been taken advantage of repeatedly, he has never stopped giving. He is happiest when all of those around him are happy, and he loves with everything he has got. There has never been a day in my life where I didn’t feel protected. There wasn’t a day where I didn’t feel as though everything I could ever need or want I had. I have never lived a day without feeling that, anything is possible. This is because of a love I continuously and unconditionally receive from an incredible father. So much of who I am is my dad. He has helped me to shape who it is I have become and will forever affect who it is I am to be.

Every family and its dynamic is different and it is so important that we respect that. There are those with incredible endurance and strength, men and women, mothers and fathers, grandmothers and grandfathers, aunts and uncles, sisters and brothers who have assumed both rolls, acting as both mother and father. I know we have these days once a year in honor of our mothers and fathers, but it is so important to hold the same appreciation we hold on these days, everyday for those who have selflessly dedicated their lives to caring and loving for us.

The best gift we can give ourselves is unconditional love. When we allow ourselves to love in this way, our cup overflows and that love reaches all of those around us. It is no mystery that the best gift we can give children is love, unbridled, unconditional love and support. Loving who we are in turn allows us to love others fully, this is the love my father provided and still provides. When we love those around us the best we can and with truth and intent, it teaches those watching how to fly.

“My father didn’t tell me how to live: he lived, and let me watch him do it.” ~ Clarence B. Kelland

Thank you dad, for everything and for being the very best of everything for us, always. I love you always, forever and a day.

♥ All of my love and light ♥

Namaste

~ Jennifer